Slaton Independent School obtains a talented teacher — 3 guesses as to THE SPECIALNESS!

If you guessed COWBOY —close but no cigar.

Humm —Floresville is barely in God’s country.

If you guessed BRONC rider — well — getting closer.

Left to Right: Rose Marie Pennartz (Grandmother),Ms. Tara, the newest TEACHER, Aunt Gerry Smith and her father Brian Pennartz. p.s. ONLY Tara is teaching – GOTCHA!

Tara Pennartz, our 3rd Ag Teacher is ALL IN with the Blue & Gold FFA Jacket WITH GOLD STATE PIN clipped to lower right side of her jacket.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Join Us For Lunch Today! Wednesday Community Luncheon – “Whats Going On In Slaton” 7/19/2017

Join Us For Lunch Today! Wednesday Community Luncheon – “Whats Going On In Slaton” 7/19/2017 – 11:45 til 1:00 PM Come & Go – Donations Appreciated.
King Ranch Mexican Beef Casserole – Sides – Fresh Garden Salad – Dessert.
This Week Discussion—- O’Reilly Auto Parts – Mayor Englund – The Slaton Masonic Lodge
Mercy Retreat Center Dining Room – Park in South Lot & Enter South Dining Room Door.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Julee Becker, Slaton ISD, Region 17 – Superintendent of the Year

beckerNominees Announced for 2017 Superintendent of the Year Award

(Austin)—Regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award have been announced. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.|

Regional superintendents of the year nominated by regional selection committees are:

Arturo Cavazos, Harlingen CISD, Region 1; Maria Vidaurri, Robstown ISD, Region 2; Robert Jaklich, Victoria ISD, Region 3; Thomas Randle, Lamar CISD, Region 4; Scott Campbell, East Chambers ISD, Region 5; Denise Monzingo, Rockdale ISD, Region 6; LaTonya Goffney, Lufkin ISD, Region 7; Judd Marshall, Mount Pleasant ISD, Region 8; John Chapman, Ennis ISD, Region 10; Jim Vaszauskas, Mansfield ISD, Region 11; Marcus Faulkner, China Spring ISD, Region 12; Tommy Hooker, Thrall ISD, Region 13; Jason Cochran, Eastland ISD, Region 14; Wes Beck, Early ISD, Region 15; Donna Hale, Miami ISD, Region 16; Julee Becker, Slaton ISD, Region 17; Amy Jacobs, Coahoma ISD, Region 18; Jeannie Meza-Chavez, Tornillo ISD, Region 19; and Jeff Cottrill, Knippa ISD, Region 20.


Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. Superintendents from any of Texas’ 1,028 local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.


The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin on August 25-26 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced October 7 at the 2017 Texas Association of School Administrators/TASB Convention in Dallas.


TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million students.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Slaton Ministerial Alliance 5th Sunday Celebration Sunday evening, July 30 at The First Baptist Church

1stbThe Slaton Ministerial Alliance will observe their quarterly 5th Sunday Celebration Sunday evening, July 30 at The First Baptist Church of Slaton. The service begins at 6:00 p.m. It will be an evening of music and worship. The love offering to be collected will go to help those in our community with financial assistance. Bring a song and join with our sister churches in Slaton as we celebrate our Lord.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email